Overcoming Worry

The Threat of Fear

untitled-design-2

 

There have been days in my past that I’ve been hopeless. I’ve felt stranded in my own home, afraid to leave and angry for staying — I was paralyzed by the fear that was controlling my life.

I didn’t talk about it much; only those close to me  knew the seriousness of the issues  I was dealing with.

I lived in darkness, with no hope for my future. For all I knew, I would be like this for the rest of my life.

When anxiety has that tight of a grip on our lives, it is time to make a change. It’s time to fight for our quality of life.

My biggest fear became that I would now fail at “fixing myself.” What if I tried to get better but couldn’t?

What if I told myself it was ok to drive to the store, but I couldn’t make it without having a panic attack?

What if I told myself I was safe, but fear crept in anyway?

What if I didn’t feel like everything was ok?

What if I tried, and failed?

Through trial and error, failures and successes, I got to a point where the fear became less and less. The same situations that used to trigger my anxiety stopped bothering me.

I could leave the house without fear.

I could drive without fear.

I could sleep without fear.

And friends, that’s a great feeling.

I pray that you begin to find the confidence to challenge yourself to take the first step towards success – whatever that means in your own life.

You can do it, I believe in you – and you owe it to yourself to at least try.

signature

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

