Overcoming Worry

When You Fear Something No one Else Seems to Fear.

When You Fear Something No One Else Seems to Fear

 

If you ask me, fear is one of the worst emotions there is. Once you let fear inside of you, it takes over. It paralyzes you. It keeps you from living your life. It keeps you from seeing clearly.

I know a lot of things about fear! If I wrote out a list of all the things I’ve been afraid of in my lifetime, you would either be impressed that someone could fear so many things, or be terrified that you’re my friend and didn’t know I was crazy.

One thing you have to understand about fear, though, is that it’s pretty relative. Automatic flushing toilets might scare me, but not you. Heights will terrify one person, and excite another. Puppies are cute to one person, and threatening to another. There’s no rhyme or reason as to what scares one person, but doesn’t scare another. It’s important to understand, though.

There was a time in my life when driving terrified me. There were some days I could barely leave the house because I was afraid to be on the road. I was afraid I would get stuck in traffic, have a panic attack, and as a result hold up traffic even more. The vicious cycle of worrying was so ingrained in me that some days I just cried and cancelled every appointment I had made. There are some of you reading this that may think that whole situation is silly. Some of you may be thinking how hard would it have been, really, to just get in the car and go?

It was hard enough that eventually I asked the doctor for pills to help me through it.

All that to say, it’s ok to be afraid of something that no one else understands. That doesn’t make it less of a fear for you.

It’s ok to see things differently. It’s ok to feel things differently.

When it comes to being afraid, the whys and whats aren’t always as important as the what now. Healing from fear can be found, regardless.

For me, healing came after taking a leap of faith away from medication to complete reliance on Christ’s protection. For you, it might be something different.

But in any case, you are special. You are normal. You will be ok, and you can get through this. It doesn’t matter what fear you are struggling with, these truths stay true all the same.

You can do this!

signature

One thought on “When You Fear Something No one Else Seems to Fear.

Leave a Reply

