Encouraging Mamas

Personality meets Parenting. 

  
I’m an introvert. I’ve known that for a while.

I’ve been an introvert for a really long time, but never really knew what it meant, how to embrace it, or how to let that term energize me.

I always thought there was something wrong with me that I didn’t want to spend all my time with friends. Or that large groups scared me. Or that I would rather spend time alone than with others.

Let me tell you: there’s nothing wrong with being an introvert. Or an extrovert. The world needs both. The workplace needs both. The church needs both. Children need an example of both.

It just recently occurred to me that as a parent, I’m still an introvert. That didn’t change once I had children.

My daughter typically takes two naps a day. One in the morning and one in the afternoon. Each nap typically lasts for two hours (or longer if I’m lucky). That’s my time to get work done, relax, eat, and feed the baby.

Lately, she has been boycotting her afternoon nap more and more. I started finding myself angry and completely out of whack on the days that she didn’t nap. Not only was I physically exhausted from chasing her more hours of the day – I was getting mentally exhausted and I didn’t understand why.

I felt guilty for being mad at her for not laying down. Who in their right mind would protest a nap if given the opportunity? (A toddler, that’s who).

I would greet my husband with a scowl, and glare at my daughter from across the room. It felt selfish.

But as a mommy I’m still an introvert.

I need my time. I need time to myself, even if it’s just an hour staring at the wall while I feed a baby. I need time to process everything that has happened during the day leading up to this point. I need  it, or my strength starts to waver.

Figuring this out has made for more enjoyable afternoons.And more enjoyable afternoons make for a happy home.

Unlike what I thought at first, it’s not selfish to take care of yourself. To take care of yourself means that are more able to take care of others. 

Realizing this has made all the difference for me. Not much has changed in the way of my toddler not wanting to take her naps, but when she does lay down I realize how valuable that time to myself is, and I’m able to fully take advantage of it – making sure that I’m ready to be the mommy my little a need. 

Did this cause you to think about how your personality type might be affecting your parenting? Let me know by leaving a comment! 

xoxo

Leave a Reply

