Spiritual Truths

His Mercies Are New Every Morning

The faithful love of the Lord never ends!
    His mercies never cease.
Great is his faithfulness;
    his mercies begin afresh each morning.
 I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance;
    therefore, I will hope in him!

{ Lamentations 3:22-24 }

His Mercies Are New Every Morning

I had a rough  day a couple days ago.

My daughter had her one-year check up, and even though I wasn’t feeling well I drug myself there to make sure her appointment didn’t get pushed back yet again.

After her initial appointment, her doctor told me that we needed to go to the lab for a routine test. I was led to believe it would be a quick, painless procedure. Instead, what followed was a terrifying experience for both my daughter and I, involving a needle too big for her little veins, and a momma on the verge of tears.

I left the appointment feeling miserable. Feeling like I had put my daughter through a traumatizing experience she would never forget. I struggled with guilt as I unwrapped her arm and removed the bandage, revealing a tiny bruise where the needle went in.

Why did they have to do that? Why did I let them do that? Was it necessary? Why didn’t I ask more questions? Why didn’t I stop them? Why did I put my daughter through that?

As I drove home, thoughts swirling through my head, a song came on the radio.  His mercies are new every morning, it sang.  

That really impacted me. The Lord’s compassion towards me is new every morning. It is as if my mistakes the day before didn’t happen – His faithful love never ends!

I meditated on that thought for a while: As a father, the Lord shows me – his child – new mercies every day. I mess up, disappoint him, don’t listen, or rebel and he begins each new day with me, fresh.

How reassuring that was to me, a mother who felt like she just messed up!

By the time I got home I was able to let go of a little guilt and rest in the knowledge that everything was going to be ok.

My thought today, then, is this: If my heavenly Father, the One I strive to follow and live like, shows me grace each day regardless of my mishaps, why shouldn’t I show myself that same grace in moments like these? My daughter will not remember that test. She won’t look back on that visit with anger towards me. My heart will hurt about this for much longer than she even remembered it.

As a parent I pray for the ability to show forgiveness towards my children when they do wrong by me. Why do we not pray for the ability to show ourselves forgiveness when we do wrong by them {or, feel as if we’ve done wrong by them}?

A friend of mine once described parenting as parents trying to do their best, and relying on God’s grace to keep our children from being really messed up when we make mistakes.

My daughter woke up this morning smiling, arms reaching for me to hold her tight. She still loved me. She woke up renewed, ready to start a brand new day.

And the same is offered to us. Every morning. 

Leave a Reply

