Lessons Learned

Weekly Truth: Five Reasons Why We Make Mistakes

If you ever think you’ve made a big mistake, just remember that in 1788 the Austrian army attacked itself and lost 10,000 men {Google Fact}

Raise your hand if you have ever attempted something, and made a mistake. Ok, that’s a silly request – if you are honest people, each of you would have raised your hand.

We know we all make mistakes. So then, why do we act so disappointed and dejected when it happens? Sure – we punish ourselves so that we don’t necessarily make the same mistake twice, or so we learn from our mistakes, and that’s productive. But dwelling on them, and thinking down on ourselves, is not productive – or beneficial – at all.

This has been my struggle this week. In a short period of time, I’ve made numerous editing and typing errors, forgotten things that needed to be done, and really dropped the well-known ball. In an effort to make myself feel better about these shortcomings, I’ve come up with five reasons why we all might make mistakes.

Five Reasons Why We Make Mistakes1. We make mistakes because it’s hard to be perfect all the time.

There is this expectation to have it all together, all the time. That’s a lot of pressure! It’s easier for me to keep it together for a day than a whole week {it’s even easier to keep it together for five minutes instead}. We shouldn’t expect ourselves to carry that burden of perfection all day, every day.  Some of us have lost the ability to embrace imperfection, even though it’s inevitable.

2. We make mistakes because our brains need a break.

Most runners will tell you that they are exhausted after a marathon. They exerted themselves for so long their bodies need a break before they try to move on to doing something else. The majority of marathon runners don’t leave one marathon to go run another immediately after. Why do we expect our brains to do that sort of work? Sure, our brains are AMAZING, and they can handle a lot. But, when we are “on” for so long without giving ourselves a break, we are at risk of a major network crash.

3. We make mistakes because maybe we do think too highly of ourselves.

I do consider myself to be a perfectionist. When I make mistakes, I feel like a failure. I send myself to the corner, sit there, and think about what I’ve done and how terrible that makes me. I must think so highly of myself that when I make mistakes it surprises me – it really knocks me on my butt. Why did I make a mistake? How did that happen? I don’t make mistakes! {mistake #23433048098} Can’t we all just be perfect robots?

4. We make mistakes because it’s good for us to.

What? It’s good for us to make mistakes every once in a while. Sometimes mistakes cause us to slow down and reevaluate the speed at which we’re doing things. Mistakes remind us that we don’t have it all together, and we need to take care of ourselves {assuming that these mistakes are not life-threatening}.

5. We make mistakes because we’re human.

Since people were created, we’ve been good at making mistakes. Poor Eve – everyone knows about her mistake, and they always will. Her mistake is one of the biggest in human history. I mean, it was the first mistake, ever, in human history {when you feel bad about your mistakes, remember – at least it’s not the worst in human history}. Now, this shouldn’t be our excuse to make mistakes – “Sorry I stole your car Steve, I’m only human.” That’s not going to keep you out of jail, or hold your life together. But, when you are tempted to beat yourself up about something that slipped through your fingers, remind yourself that you are human, and that forgiveness is always there to pick you back up.

Isn’t that the greatest point of all? Each of us has an equal opportunity to receive forgiveness for whatever we’ve done. Yes. Anything. You may have really screwed up, and you’re thinking, “This list is stupid. It doesn’t help me pick up the pieces of my mistake.” Well, hopefully this last point does.

Christ offers us unlimited chances for forgiveness, as believers in Him. What a great deal! If anything can bring me out of this funk, it is that fact alone.

I remember watching my first rated R movie. I think I was 12. It really messed me up. Not only was it too scary for me at that age, I knew I had gone against the rules my parents had put in place. After confessing this to them, I still felt terrible about it. How could I have done that? Was God going to forgive me?

It took me a while to come to terms with that. God had already forgiven me; I had pleaded for forgiveness numerous times. Even though this mistake seemed so big in my book, God didn’t even break a sweat wiping that slate clean. How’s that for awesome?

Not only are your mistakes forgiven, they’re forgotten.


Who is a God like you, who pardons sin and forgives the transgression of the remnant of his inheritance? You do not stay angry forever but delight to show mercy. Micah 7:18

Delight in this truth today!

Leave a Reply

