Just Because

Why Writing Is Important: The Reason For My Blog

You write because the brain is an endless wilderness, whose roughest terrain can only be traveled with a pencil.
– Durs Grunbein

I have held an interest in writing ever since I can really remember. I have journals from when I was five years old, note cards of poetry from elementary and middle school, and numerous other journals from high school. Writing has always been a natural way of expressing myself.

Why Writing is Important

It started as a fun past time: seven-hour trips to grandma’s house went by quicker if I was writing rhymes. It later turned into a way for me to process my thoughts in middle school {when everything is confusing anyway}. As an introvert, a lot of what I struggled with stayed inside my head, unless I was writing. It became therapeutic, and addictive. I pursued creative writing classes in high school where I learned how to better write poetry, short stories, and even tried my hand at one song {complete with guitar music}.

You might be surprised, then, to discover that I went on to pursue a degree in Physics later in college. That is, until I realized how very much I loathe algebra, calculus, and all their other friends. After going undeclared for some time, I came around to declaring English as my major, with a concentration in Writing {and a minor in Psychology, in case you were wondering}.

I had no idea what I was going to do with this degree. All I knew was that if I was going to be in school for another four years, I was going to do something I loved. And I did! I took creative writing classes, poetry classes, short story classes, American Literature, Feminist Literature, and British Literature classes {to name a brief few}. It was hard work, but my passion for writing grew exponentially. Term papers were fun because I was writing {even the 25-pager}. I pursued an internship with the Student Paper as part of one of my classes. It was there I was “published.” It was also there that I realized I am not so skilled in journalism. I was more nervous than most of my interviewees!

The closer I got to graduation, the more confused I became. What was I going to do with this degree? My favorite question to be asked was, “are you going to become a teacher?” Because every woman graduating with an English degree wants to teach? NO. My best response was, “I’m going to hang my degree on the wall and stare at it for a while, because it just took me four years to earn it.” Stare at it and be proud of all the hard work I put in; that’s the least I was going to do.

I will use this degree in any job I pursue, I know that for a fact. I may not live to be a published short story writer, and that’s ok. I may not have any of the job titles listed under Google’s “top jobs for an English major,” and that’s ok too. What I will always have is a love for writing, an expectation to write regularly, and a mind full of ideas to write about.

That’s why I blog. I don’t need a lot of followers, I don’t even really need anyone else besides myself to read it {though, I do appreciate everyone who takes the time to read my posts!}. Until I come up with what my husband calls my “million dollar book idea,” I’ll be here – writing for you.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

